Using Your StockCharts Account

Using Your StockCharts Account

Your User ID and Password

Once your StockCharts account has been created, you need to log in to it in order to start using it. To log in to your account, you need two pieces of information - your User ID and your password. Both of those items should have been sent to you via email immediately after you completed the sign-up process. If you did not receive that email, please contact our Support staff via the “Contact Our Support Team” button on the right side of this page.

About Account Security

While we take every precaution to keep the information stored on our servers private, we cannot guarantee that information stored on our website is 100% secure. As a charting service, we strongly recommend that highly valuable information like account numbers and passwords should NOT be stored on our website. In addition, we strongly recommend that members not re-use important passwords as their StockCharts password.

Logging In and Logging Out

Logging In

To log in to your account, click on the “Log In” link in the upper right corner of any of our web pages. You will then be prompted to enter your User ID and password.

You can also, optionally, check a checkbox labeled “Log Me In Automatically Next Time”. If that checkbox is checked, we will store your User ID and Password in special “Cookies” stored on your computer by your web browser. Then, the next time you visit StockCharts, those cookies will be used to automatically log you in.

If your login attempt is successful, you will then see the “Members Homepage” which gives you full access to all of our charting and analysis tools.

If you cannot remember your password, you can use our Password Retrieval Page and we will send it to you in email.

Logging Out

To log out from your account, click the “Log Out” link in the upper right corner of any web page. Logging out is not necessary if you are using a computer that can only be accessed by you. Logging out is mostly used by people that use shared computers like those in a public library.

Note: If you log out manually by clicking the “Log Out” link, the “Log Me In Automatically” cookies are erased.

Managing Your Account Settings

After logging in, a new link appears in the upper right corner of our webpages - the “Your Account” link. This link takes you to a page that allows you to review and change your account settings including your password, your email address, and your service level.

*Click here to see an illustrated version on how to do these items.

Changing Your Password

To change your password, click on the ”Your Account” link in the upper right corner of any page (assuming you are logged in to your account), and then click the “Change Password” link on the right side of the page. Enter your new password in the “Your New Password” box. You'll need to re-enter your password in the “Retype Password” box and then press the “Submit” button to complete the process.

Note: If you change your password, the “Log Me In Automatically” feature will not work the next time you visit our website. You will need to log in manually with that checkbox checked in order to reset that feature.

Changing Your Email Address

To change your email address, click on the ”Your Account” link in the upper right corner of any page (assuming you are logged in to your account), and then click the “Change User ID” link on the right side of the page. Enter your new email address into the “Your New User ID” box, and press the “Submit” button to complete the process.

Note: Your email address is used as your StockCharts.com User ID. If you change your email address, your User ID also changes. If you change your email address, the “Log Me In Automatically” feature will not work the next time you visit our website. You will need to log in manually with that checkbox checked in order to reset that feature.

Managing Your Subscription

Subscriptions to StockCharts.com are valid for a given period of time, based on the amount of time you have paid for. The expiration date for your subscription is displayed on both the ”Members” page and on the ”Your Account” page. When your subscription is about to expire, we also send you an email notification.

Automatic Renewal

Automatic Renewal ensures that your account will always be available and your charts and settings will never be deleted.

Your account is configured for Automatic Renewal by default. When the account is about to expire, we automatically renew the account for the same duration and same service level as the last time the account was renewed. Several days before we auto-renew an annual renewal account, we send out an email reminder explaining what will happen.

Your Automatic Renewal settings can be changed at any time by visiting the ”Your Account” page and clicking on the “Auto-Renew Preferences” link on the right side of the page. You can choose Monthly Renewal, Annual Renewal, or Cancel Subscription. Click the “Submit Changes” button to complete the process.

Note: Turning off Automatic Renewal effectively cancels your subscription. Either Monthly Renewal or Annual Renewal must be enabled on your expiration date in order to renew your subscription.

Upgrading Your Service Level

Members can upgrade their current service level at any time on the ”Your Account” page. Just click on the “Change Service Level” link on the right side of the page. Then click the “Upgrade” button for the appropriate service level, in order to change your service level.

During the 1-month free trial period at the start of a new subscription, members can upgrade (or downgrade) their account for free.

We charge a fee for upgrading an existing account. The fee is essentially equal to the pro-rated difference in cost between the original service level and the new service level. The exact cost of the upgrade is displayed after the “Upgrade” button is pressed.

Downgrading Your Service Level

Members can downgrade their current service level at any time on the ”Your Account” page. Just click on the “Change Service Level” link on the right side of the page. Then click the “Downgrade” button for the appropriate service level, in order to change your service level.

If you downgrade your account, the downgrade will take effect at the end of your billing month. No refunds will be issued for the current partially-used month of service.

Note: If you downgrade to our Basic service level, you will be prompted for the name of the ChartList which you wish to use as your single Basic ChartList. Make sure that all of the charts you wish to keep are stored in the ChartList you select before completing the downgrade process. Charts stored in other ChartLists will be deleted once the downgrade is complete.

Cancelling Your Account

You can cancel your account at any time by clicking on the “Cancel Your Account” button at the bottom of the “Your Account” page. The cancellation will take effect at the end of your billing month.

Reactivating an Expired Account

If your account expires before you are able to renew it, you have 30 days to reactivate your account before we remove your saved charts, scans and settings from our system. To reactivate an expired account, attempt to log in to the site as usual. You will see a message that your account has expired, with a link to a page where you can reactivate your account.

Additional Resources

Videos